Top Websites & Web 2.0 Services

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Adbusters http://www.adbusters.org

Arts & Letters Daily http://www.aldaily.com/

Arts Journal http://www.artsjournal.com/

Audacity (sound editing freeware) http://audacity.sourceforge.net/

Blogger http://www.blogger.com

Boing Boing (interesting stories) http://www.boingboing.net/

Box Net (online file storage) http://www.box.net

Chatmaker (free online chat room) http://www.chatmaker.net/

Daily Apps http://dailyapps.net/

Digg (Net's popular articles) http://www.digg.com/

Epublishers Wiki (resources for Epublishers Weekly) http://www.epublisherswiki.com

Epublishers Weekly (EPW) Blog http://www.epublishersweekly.com

FilmSchatten http://www.filmschatten.com

Firefox (web browser) http://www.firefox.com

Flash Card DB (make online flash cards) http://flashcarddb.com/

Freelance Switch 101 Essential Freelance Resources http://freelanceswitch.com/general/101-essential-freelancing-resources/

Glue http://gluenow.com/

Google http://www.google.com

Google free eMail (Gmail) http://www.google.com/gmail/

Google News Alerts http://www.google.com/alerts

Google News (Science and Technology) http://news.google.com/?ned=us&topic=t

Google Notebook https://www.google.com/accounts/ServiceLogin?service=notebook

Grand Central http://www.grandcentral.com/

Internet Archive http://www.archive.org

Jott (voice to email: 1-866-JOTT-123) http://www.jott.com/

Jottit (free Wiki publishing) http://www.jottit.com

Kunaki (CD/DVD Publishing) http://www.kunaki.com

Life Hacker http://www.lifehacker.com

Lulu (Publishing) http://www.lulu.com

Macworld http://www.macworld.com

Make Use Of (Tech Tips) http://www.makeuseof.com/

Manny's Simple Note Cards http://www.simplymanny.com/

Media Fire (free file storage) http://www.mediafire.com

Meebo (web-based instant messaging; free) http://wwwl.meebo.com/

Mental Floss (interesting tidbits) http://mentalfloss.com/

MIT Open Courseware (free college courses) http://ocw.mit.edu/OcwWeb/web/home/home/index.htm

New York Times http://www.nytimes.com

No Script (Firefox extension for security) http://noscript.net/

Open Office (free office suite) http://www.openoffice.org

Opera (web browser) http://www.opera.com

Page Flakes (web-based book-mark manager) http://www.pageflakes.com

Photobucket (photo hosting) http://www.photobucket.com

Photojojo (photo tips and projects) http://photojojo.com/

Picnik (online photo editor) http://www.picnik.com/

Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

Purl (interesting stories) http://purrl.net/

Scribe (online organizer, still in beta) http://iscrybe.com/main/index.php

Scribd (online repository for documents) http://www.scribd.com/

Skype (free VOIP phone calls) http://www.skype.com

Symbaloo (web-based book-mark manager) http://www.symbaloo.com/

Tech Guy http://www.helponthe.net

Think Free (online alternative to MS-Office) http://www.thinkfree.com/

Vyew (free online collaboration) http://www.vyew.com/content/

Washington Post Technology section http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/technology/index.html

Wikipedia http://www.wikipedia.com

Wired News http://www.wired.com

WordPerfect Universe http://www.wpuniverse.com

Wordpress http://www.wordpress.org

Worldwatch http://www.worldwatch.org

Write Board http://writeboard.com/

You Tube http://www.youtube.com

Zamzar ( free online file conversion ) http://www.zamzar.com/

Zoho (free web-based office suite) http://www.zoho.com

Zotero (Firefox extension: Open source notes manager) http://www.zotero.org/

Zorba Press http://www.ZorbaPress.com

changed February 13, 2008